PFM Capital Investees Selected as ABEX 2016 Finalists: Orange Tree Living, Crestline Coach & Hospitality Network

August 24th, 2016

August 23, 2016

ABEX 2016 Finalists Announced

It is that time of year again and we are very proud to announce the finalists for the 2016 ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, taking place October 22nd at TCU Place in Saskatoon. “We at the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce are once again very impressed with the quality of nominations from so many businesses throughout the province,” said Steve McLellan, CEO of Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.

Of the 86 nominations received, the judges selected a total of 55 finalists in 10 categories. “The Saskatchewan Chamber uses a system for the evaluation of nominations which makes it possible for small and large businesses to go head-to-head in a category fairly,” McLellan said.

In the Community Involvement Award category sponsored by BHP Billiton, the finalists include: Alchemy*Clothing*Salon*Tattoo*Piercing* (Saskatoon), CORE Real Estate Inc. (Yorkton), Cornerstone Credit Union (Yorkton), Nicor Group (Regina), The Saskatchewan Co-Operative Association Limited (Saskatoon), and Wiegers Financial & Benefits (Saskatoon).

In the Export Award category sponsored by Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership, the finalists include: Crestline Coach Ltd. (Saskatoon), Hillberg & Berk (Regina), TA Foods Ltd. (Yorkton), Vendasta Marketing (Saskatoon), and Viterra Inc. (Regina).

In the Growth and Expansion Award category sponsored by PFM Capital Inc., finalists include: Hillberg & Berk (Regina), IntraGrain Technologies Inc. (Regina), Leo’s Group (Regina), Orange Tree Living (Regina), R.H. Electric Ltd. (Yorkton), Rubicon Pharmacies Canada (Regina), and The Saskatoon Co-Operative Association Limited (Saskatoon).

In the Innovation Award category, sponsored by Innovation Saskatchewan, finalists include: Hospitality Network Canada (2011) Inc. (Regina), IntraGrain Technologies Inc. (Regina), QuickLinkt Solutions Inc. (Saskatoon), and Vendasta Marketing (Saskatoon).

In the Marketing Award category sponsored by Handy Special Events, the finalists include: CORE Real Estate Inc. (Yorkton), Hillberg & Berk (Regina), Lloydminster & District Co-op (Lloydminster), North Ridge Development Corporation (Saskatoon), The Sandbox in the City (Saskatoon), and Trademark Homes (Regina).

In the New Venture Award category sponsored by the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy, finalists include: Black Bridge Brewery (Swift Current), Buckberger Baerg & Partners LLP (Saskatoon), Green Hill Lodge and Suites (Prince Albert), Queen City Excavating Inc. (Regina), Warman Physiotherapy & Wellness (Warman), and Warman Small Animal Hospital (Warman).

In the Service Award category sponsored by Minard’s Leisure World, finalists include: Harvard Western Insurance (Regina), IIBC (Saskatoon), Park Town Hotel (Saskatoon), Pharmasave #416 (Weyburn), Suburban Extended Stay Hotel (Kindersley), The Sandbox in the City (Saskatoon), and Viterra Inc. (Regina).

In the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award category sponsored by Cameco, finalists include: Jordan Boyes – Boyes Group Realty (Saskatoon), Elysia and Natasha Vandenhurk – Three Farmers (Saskatoon), Jessica Tetu – Just for You Day Spa (Saskatoon), Dustin Nehring and Taylor Lange – N.L. Construction Inc. (Yorkton), Cole Thorpe – Prairie Proud Apparel Corp. (Saskatoon), Jill Kelly – Red Bicycle Communications Corp. (Lloydminster), and Mackenzie Firby – Two Fifty Two Boutique (Saskatoon).

Priority Focus, the newest ABEX category is in its second year. Sponsored by SIGA, the award is presented to a business which has gone above and beyond in demonstration of business excellence, in an area that mirrors a select Saskatchewan Chamber policy priority. This year the focus is on immigration. The finalists are: Manila Cleaning Services Ltd. (Saskatoon), Park Town Hotel (Saskatoon), and TA Foods Ltd. (Yorkton).

In the final category, the Community Cornerstone Award sponsored by SaskEnergy, there are four finalists including: Fries Tallman Lumber (1976) Ltd. (Regina), Martensville Veterinary Hospital (Martensville), Standard Motors (Swift Current), and Sutton Financial Group (Saskatoon).

Voting for this new Community Cornerstone Award will commence September 22nd at Voting for this award will take place up to and including the ABEX evening, October 22nd. Visitors to the website may register to vote daily during the voting period; votes will be tallied and the winner will be announced during the ABEX ceremonies. Tickets are available online at


For further information, contact:

Steve McLellan,

CEO  Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Ph: 306.781.3122  Email:


    Sign-up for Our Insight Updates

    Through its affiliation with the fund managers PFM Fund Operations, PFM Venture Capital, Prairie Ventures GP, TopSoil Farm Land Management, and TopSoil Farm Land Management (II), and doing business as PFM Capital ("PFM Capital" or "PFM"), PFM is a leading private equity investment firm in Saskatchewan. Founded in 1989 as a corporate finance company, PFM has been managing private equity and venture capital funds since 1993. This website does not represent an offering of securities. The information disclosed is incomplete and can be qualified in its entirety by each fund's most recent offering document or limited partnership agreement, obtainable free of charge by contacting PFM Capital Inc. The securities described herein are only available to eligible investors in Canada in accordance with applicable securities laws. Privacy Policies

    Disclaimer | Privacy Policies